PLBC – Westernport Laser Regatta.

Thank you to all participants in the 2017 Laser Regatta for the enjoyable competition.  A blustery day with North Westerly winds, unusual for Point Leo, so a starboard course was set.

Congratulations to Simon Wilkins from Somers YC for the overall Regatta first place and Andrew Van Leewen from PLBC for the winning the Masters Cup.

Click HERE for results.

Thank you to John Hollander from Merricks YC for once again fulfilling the role of Race Officer and Amanda Nutting & Wendy Wilson from Somers for the help in running the Regatta and to all those that manned the safety boats.  Also thank you to Merricks & Somers YCs for supporting the Regatta with their clubs’ safety boats & start boats.

Lowe Cup 2017.

Perfect conditions for sailing on a perfect day.  The massive Point Leo fleet was dominated by Toby & Colin in the Taser, Stephen Lincoln and Andrew in their Lasers.  Toby & Colin crossed the finish line first but Andrew Van Leewen won on corrected time with a stunning piece of sailing. Click on the below link for results.

Thanks to Lachlann Roach for his brilliant running of the race as the Race Officer.

Lowe Cup 2017 Results

First Race – held Saturday 31st December 2016.

Winner 1st division (Lasers): Stephen Roach.

Winner 2nd division (All other classes): James Legge

A close and hard fought race in 15-20km winds from the south east.  Stephen Roach, in a remarkable come from behind win, on the last leg, with a brilliant tactical move.  James Legge & his crew won the start and were never headed. A deserved win.

Race 2 – Menzies Cup – held Saturday 7th January 2017.

Race abandoned due to strong winds.  The Menzies Cup will be sailed on the re sail day set aside in the sailing program.

Several Point Leo sailors went out for an informal sail in the strong winds watched over by the safety boat.


IMG_0458 IMG_0456 IMG_0426 IMG_0488 (2) IMG_0463